South Carolina Board of Barber Examiners OJT Overview Meeting Minutes December 19, 2022 9:00 a.m. Via WebEx Teleconference

1. Meeting Called to Order

Meeting was called to order at 9:02am.

a. Public notice of this meeting was properly posted at the SC Board of Barber Examiners office, Synergy Business Park, Kingstree Building and provided to all requesting persons, organizations, and news media in compliance with Section 30-4-80 of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act.

b. Rules of the Meeting

In attendance via WebEx were Paul Robinson, Board Chair; Theresa Brown, Administrator; Mary League, Advice Counsel; Robynn Devine, Staff; Lakin Raulerson, Staff; A'Veyaun Dennis, Robert Gathers, Jaquavious Addison, Sandra Woodruff, EmilianoPadron-Rosas, Donna Bryant, Eric Williams, Corey Reaves Jr, Dahyun Reyes, Yon Martin, Tawuan Scales, Rorlanda Gilmore SR., Joy Burch, Mark Jones II, William McCoy, Charles Williams, Victoria Carr, Alvin Reid, and Ryan Albus.

The roll was taken by Ms. Lakin Raulerson.

2. Review of Statutes and Regulations

Mr. Paul Robinson discussed the purpose of the OJT training and the requirements for both the instructors and students. During the discussion, Mr. Robinson discussed the purpose for OJT Overviews because first attempt pass rate have been very low. Most recently, the practical exam first attempt past rate has increased. However, the first attempt theory portion has been low. The instructors and students are to be aware of the requirements in completion of the program, how to be prepared for a visit from the inspector, and preparation for the examination. The applicant is not considered enrolled in the barber program until the date of issuance of the student permit by the Barber Board. No credit can be given to the student prior to today's date, 12/19/22. The permits will be issued with today's date, 12/19/22, on it and training may begin today. Training permits are not transferrable. Student cannot switch instructors or Barbershops even if the instructor have multiple locations. The training permit is only valid for the location on the permit. Each Student must have the proper training materials before they begin their training. That includes complete kit, textbook, workbook, all tools and implements must be in place prior to occurring hours.

Monthly hour sheets are due in the office by the 10th of each month. Even if the student earned 0 hours. As of September, there has been a form on the LLR website that instructors can submit via the website. Hours can only be submitted online. Instructors cannot email, mail, or hand deliver the monthly report anymore. The monthly report sheet should be signed by the student and the instructor. It is the instructor's responsibility to keep a copy of the monthly report on-site at the Barbershop. Students must receive a copy of their monthly reports. It is recommended that students keep a copy of their report offsite, in a safe location. It is required of the instructors to keep a daily timesheet. There is a time sheet available on the LLR website that can be used. A time card and digital sign-in format can be used, however, the instructor must be able to produce the daily sign-in sheets and monthly reports. The daily sign-in sheets should match the monthly report.

If a student withdraws from the program or graduates, instructors are required to submit a training affidavit to the office within 5 business days of the student withdrawing or completing the program.

The training affidavit is a signed notarized document that validates the number of hours that the student completed. The student should receive a copy of the training affidavit. The training affidavit will avoid any problems such as the student not completing the program. If that student decides to finish the program later, they will have the documentation they need to get another permit at a school or another

Barbershop. Instructors cannot withhold hours that have been earned by the student. If the student fails to uphold their financial obligation to the program, it is not cause for Instructors to withhold hours. It is the instructor responsibility and they will be held accountable for making sure those hours are submitted.

If the instructor holds a Register Barber license and a Register Barber Instructor license they can only train a student to prepare to take the Register Barber exam. If the Instructor holds a Master Hair Care Specialist license and a Master Hair Care Specialist Instructor license can train a student to take either the Registered Barber exam or the Master Hair Care Specialist exam. The Board has approved use of online training tools. Both of the approved publishers, have online components for theory as well as practical. Online components for theory training 100% of the curriculum and online training materials for practical training only for 50% of the curriculum. For Master Hair Care Specialist preparation, online and digital training is not allowed to be used for teaching chemical services. Students should not depend on YouTube for OJT preparation for the exam. It is the instructor's responsibility to make an assessment of the student at the beginning and throughout the program in preparation for the exam.

The textbook, workbook, exam review books, are to be in place prior to the student beginning the program because the instructors are required to give the minimum of one hour of theory per day. It is recommended that instructors put more emphases on safety, sanitation, client protect, and the sciences because many students have failed those portions. The two approved publications are Pivot Point Fundamentals of Barbering 1st edition and Milady Standard Professional Barbering 5th or 6th edition. Both publications offer their textbook, assessments, workbooks, in a digital formation. Instructors must use the up to date publications because the exam questions are coming from those resources.

In addition to the textbook and workbook, it is highly recommended that the instructors and students download the Candidate Information Bulletin. The testing company, PSI, as well as NIC, provides a Candidate Information bulletin that breaks down step by step the curriculum components that will be tested on theory as well as the practical for Registered Barber and Master Hair Care Specialist. The practical exam for Registered Barber has 5 parts. For Master Hair Care Specialist, it has 9 parts. At some point in 2023, the testing company should provide an overview of the exam. It is encouraged that when the instructors receive an email from the office or PSI stating that they have a test overview, make sure they are available to attend. It will give the instructors everything they will need to prepare the student for the exam.

Instructors are asked to not put more than 1920 hours that is required for the OJT program. Even if the student earns more than 1920. The daily report, monthly report, training affidavit goes together and the same amount of hours should be the same on all reports. Students were encouraged to not use YouTube as a source of learning.

Mr. Paul Robinson opened the floor for students and instructors to ask questions.

Final roll call was taken by Ms. Lakin Raulerson.

3. Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 9:30am.